Local

PWACU to Hill: Help Utahns with HIV/AIDS

The People with AIDS Coalition of Utah is asking the state’s legislature to fund a program that would guarantee low-income Utahns with HIV/AIDS access to medication.


The AIDS Drug Assistance Program is typically funded by federal and state money. However, Utah currently does not contribute to the program, which covers 629 Utahns —a number that has increased by nearly 40 percent since 2006. Nearly 70 percent of recipients have incomes at less than 200 percent of the federal poverty level ($20,800 per single person). HIV therapy, on average, costs at least $10,400 per year.

To make sure that Utahns with HIV/AIDS are covered, especially during the current harsh economic climate, PWACU is asking the legislature to fully fund ADAP. The total cost: a $275,000 appropriation, or $437 per person.

PWACU Executive Director Toni Johnson has argued that the appropriation would end up saving the state a considerable amount of money. Currently, uninsured people with HIV/AIDS often must rely on Medicaid—an average cost of $12,000 per person for the state each year.

If ADAP is funded, Johnson said the state could not only save money in the long run, but reduce the long wait lists facing people with HIV/AIDS who are seeking care.

PWACU is asking for the community to help bringing ADAP to the attention of legislatures during the general session by contacting members of the House Health and Human Services Committee, Senate Health and Human Services Committee, the Health and Human Services Appropriations Subcommittee and the Executive Appropriations Committee. They ask that individuals send short, respectful emails to the following addresses.

House Health and Human Services Committee     

Rep. Paul Ray, Chair    pray@utah.gov
Rep. Ronda Rudd Menlove, Vice Chair    rmenlove@utah.gov
Rep. Trisha S. Beck    tbeck@utah.gov
Rep. Bradley M. Daw    bdaw@utah.gov
Rep. Phil Riesen    priesen@utah.gov
Rep. Stephen E. Sandstrom    ssandstrom@utah.gov
Rep. Evan J. Vickers    evickers@utah.gov

 

Senate Health and Human Services Committee      
Sen. D. Chris Buttars, Chair    dcbuttars@utahsenate.org
Sen. Gregory S. Bell    gbell@utahsenate.org
Sen. Allen M. Christensen    achristensen@utahsenate.org
Sen. David P. Hinkins    dhinkins@utahsenate.org
Sen. Patricia W. Jones    pjones@utahsenate.org
Sen. Luz Robles    lrobles@utahsenate.org

Health and Human Services Appropriations Subcommittee      
Sen. Allen M. Christensen, Co Chair    (see Senate Health and Human Services)
Rep. John Dougall, Co Chair    jdougall@utah.gov
Rep. Rebecca Chavez-Houck    rchouck@utah.gov
Sen. Margaret Dayton    mdayton@utahsenate.org
Rep. Ben C. Ferry    bcferry@utah.gov
Rep. Keith Grover    keithgrover@utah.gov
Sen. Patricia W. Jones    (see Senate Health and Human Services)
Sen. Daniel R. Liljenquist    dliljenquist@utahsenate.org
Rep. David Litvack    dlitvack@utah.gov
Rep. Kraig Powell    kraigpowell@utah.gov
Rep. Paul Ray    (see House Health and Human Services)

Executive Appropriations Committee      
Rep. Ron Bigelow, Chair    ronbigelow@utah.gov
Sen. Lyle W. Hillyard, Chair    lhillyard@utahsenate.org
Sen. Peter C. Knudson, Vice Chair    pknudson@utahsenate.org
Rep. Bradley G. Last, Vice Chair    blast@utah.gov
Sen. Gregory S. Bell    (see Senate Health and Human Services)
Rep. David Clark    dclark@utah.gov
Rep. Brad L. Dee    bdee@utah.gov
Rep. Kevin S. Garn    kgarn@utah.gov
Rep. James R. Gowans    jgowans@utah.gov
Sen. Scott K. Jenkins    sjenkins@utahsenate.org
Sen. Patricia W. Jones    (see Senate Health and Human Services)
Sen. Sheldon L. Killpack    skillpack@utahsenate.org
Rep. David Litvack    (see Health and Human Services Appropriations)
Rep. Rebecca D. Lockhart    blockhart@utah.gov
Sen. Karen Mayne    kmayne@utahsenate.org
Rep. Carol Spackman Moss    csmoss@utah.gov
Sen. Luz Robles    (see Senate Health and Human Services)
Sen. Ross I. Romero    rromero@utahsenate.org
Rep. Jennifer M. Seelig    jseelig@utah.gov
Sen. Michael G. Waddoups    waddoups@utahsenate.org

The House of Representatives’ phone number is (801) 538-1029. The Senate’s number is (801) 538-1029.

Related Articles

Check Also
Close
Back to top button