Equality Utah Announces Candidate Endorsements

On Sept. 18, statewide gay and transgender group Equality Utah’s Political Action Campaign announced its endorsements for 2009’s municipal election this November.

The group made its endorsements following extensive interviews with candidates and after looking at candidates’ viability and their history of supporting rights for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people.

“We are proud to endorse thee candidates,” Lauren Littlefield, Equality Utah’s Manager of Field Operations, said in a release. “Equality Utah looks forward to spreading the message of a fair and just Utah beyond Salt Lake City as we work to elect these qualified candidates.”

This year, candidates from 15 cities including Salt Lake City, Taylorsville and Ogden interviewed for Equality Utah’s endorsement.

The list of endorsed candidates is as follows:

Salt Lake City Council District 1: Carlton Christensen

Salt Lake City Council District 3: Stan Penfold

Salt Lake City Council District 5: Jill Remington Love 

Salt Lake City Council District 7: Soren Simonsen                  

Ogden City Council Ward 1: Jesse Garcia

Taylorsville Mayor: Russ Wall

Related Articles

Back to top button