Equality Utah releases list of endorsed candidates

Equality Utah released its endorsed candidates for the 2012 election and included Democratic gubernatorial candidate Peter Cooke and Democrat Scott Howell, who is running for U.S. Senate against Orrin Hatch.

Candidates for local and national office filled out questionnaires with inquiries into issues that are important to queer Utahns. Based on their responses, they were interviewed by EU board, staff and a selection of community members. The electability of each candidate was also considered when endorsing and donating money to campaigns.

U.S. Senate

Scott Howell (D)

U.S. House

Soren Simonsen (D), U.S. Congress, District 3

Utah State House of Representatives

Angela Romero (D), District 26, Salt Lake City

Barbara Eubanks (D), District 39, Taylorsville

Benjamin Pales (D), District 12, Roy

Brent Holloway (D), District 62, Washington County

Brian King (D), District 28, Salt Lake City

Carol Spackman Moss (D), District 37, Salt Lake City

Celina Milner (D), District 34, Taylorsville

Daniel Paget (D), District 52, South Jordan

Heidi Bitton (D), District 29, West Valley City

Jeff Bell (D), District 43, West Jordan

Jen Seelig (D), District 23, Salt Lake City

Joel Briscoe (D), District 25, Salt Lake City

Kenny Barlow (Libertarian), District 59, Orem

Larry Wiley (D), District 31, West Valley City

Liz Muniz (D), District 33, West Valley City

Lynn Hemingway (D), District 40, Salt Lake City

Marie Poulson(D), District 46, Cottonwood Heights

Mark Wheatley (D), District 35, Murray

Neil Hanson (D), District 9, Ogden

Pam Udy (D), District 11, South Weber

Patrice Arent (D), District 36, Salt Lake City

Rebecca Chavez-Houck (D), District 24, Salt Lake City

Tim Cosgrove (D), District 44, Murray

Tom Nedreberg (D), District 68, Tooele

Utah State Senate

John Rendell (D), District 6, West Jordan

Josie Valdez (D), District 8, Midvale

Luz Robles (D), District 1, Salt Lake City

Peter Clemens (D), District 19, Ogden


Ben McAdams (D), Salt Lake County Mayor

Chris White (D), Washington County Commissioner

Jim Bradley (D), Salt Lake County Council at Large C

Paul Recanzone (D), Salt Lake County Council 5

Roger Armstrong (D), Summit County Council A

Related Articles


Back to top button