6 openly gay candidates heading to Congress, 7th leading

At least six openly gay members of Congress will be heading to Washington in January and a bisexual woman is holding a close lead as ballots are still being counted.

Wisconsin Rep. Tammy Baldwin becomes the first openly gay U.S. Senator as she won against former Wisconsin Gov. Tommy Thompson 51.5 to 45.9 percent.

Openly gay Wisconsin State Rep. Mark Pocan won Baldwin’s Congressional seat.

Democrat Mark Takano becomes the first openly gay Californian elected to federal office and the first openly gay Asian-American in Congress.

Former advisor to Bill Clinton, Democrat Sean Patrick Maloney, ousted a moderate Republican to represent New York in Congress.

Rep. David Cicilline of Rhode Island and Rep. Jared Polis of Colorado are two openly gay House members who won reelection.

Richard Tisei lost his bid to become the House’s first openly gay Republican.

In Arizona, Kyrsten Sinema holds a 2,000 vote lead over her Republican rival, Vernon Parker. The secretary of state has not finalized the numbers, but if elected, Sinema would become the first openly bisexual member of Congress.

Related Articles


  1. Six gay and lesbian candidates win Congressional seats, one still in the lead as votes are counted, and a gay Republican loses.

Back to top button