Feature StoriesPride 2013

Dr. Kristen Ries Community Service Award recipients

The first Utah Pride community service award was created by Donny Eastepp, Emperor XII of the Royal Court of the Golden Spike Empire, while serving as Gay Pride Day chair in 1987. The award was established to recognize outstanding service to the gay community.

It was presented to Dr. Kristen Ries, M.D., for her humanitarian efforts in dealing with the AIDS crisis.  The community service award was afterward named in her honor. It is the highest honor our community can bestow.

The Kristen Ries Community Service Award recipients, while seemingly diverse, have the love of community in common. They have, in their own unique ways, given time, money, service and commitment to building or supporting the gay and lesbian community. They are positive role models, and as with Dr. Kristen Ries, “exemplified everything that the award has stood for: compassion, leadership and courage.”


1987-Dr. Kristen Ries, M.D.

1988-Rev. Bruce Barton

1989-KUTV Channel 2

1990-Chuck Whyte

1991-Nikki Boyer, Becky Moss, Ben Williams

1992-The College of Monarchs of the Royal Court of the Golden Spike Empire, Craig Miller

1993-Ben Barr,  Val Mansfield, Kathy Worthington

1994-Kim Russo

1995-Bruce Harmon

1996-Clariss Cartier (Doug Tollstrup), Charlene Orchard, Barb Barnhart

1997-Rev. Kelly Byrnes, Jeff Freedman, Maggie Snyder

1998-LaDonna Moore

1999-Dr. Patty Reagan, Ph.D.

2000-Marlin Criddle

2000-Brenda Voisard

2001-Laura Milliken Gray

2001-Brook Heart-Song

2002-Kevin Hillman

2003-Doug Wortham

2004-Luci Malin

2005-Jane & Tami Marquardt

2006-Jackie Biskupski

2007-Doug Fadel

2008-Stan Penfold

2009-Walt Larabee

2010-Mark Swonson

2011-Michael Aaron

2012-Valerie Larabee

2013-Brandie Balken and Charles Lynn Frost

Related Articles

Back to top button