Utah Pride reelects board officers

Last night the board of directors of the Utah Pride Center elected its officers for the coming three years.  John Netto was elected as board president, confirming the position he has held as interim president since the resignation of Nikki Boyer on October 28.  Marva Match was reelected as secretary, and former treasurer Chris Wharton was elected to the newly-created post of parliamentarian. Kent Frogley was elected vice president and relative newcomer Steven Ha was elected as treasurer.  None of the elections were contested.

The board discussed the current financial situation, stating that there is not enough cash (both on-hand and committed) to ensure continuation of Pride Center operations through March 2014.  Financial statements were not made available, contrary to a promise made by Netto on October 30, 2013 that clean and accurate financials would be made available within 30 days.

Board member Jesse Nix was tasked with working with Pride Center staff to implement various parts of the proposed transparency plan, including putting board members’ biographies on the Center website.  The transparency plan can be viewed here, and public comments are being taken until December 20.

The board also asked for public comments at the end of the meeting. During this time, some members of the community expressed their concern that the board was not representative of the community and that trust was severely lacking. While some members of the board listened to these concerns and attempted to address them, others seemed dismissive and defensive. After the meeting, several observers commented that they felt the board was out of touch with the community and unwilling to listen.

Related Articles


Check Also
Back to top button