Local

How to get married in Utah

To help as many couples wishing to marry since the decision Friday by District Judge Robert Shelby striking Utah’s anti-gay marriage laws and constitutional amendment, we are offering up this guide, separated by county. Utah residents can marry in any county.

The following county clerks are currently issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples:

Cache County

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Cache County Clerk’s Office, Marriage Division:

Cache County Clerk’s Office
179 North Main St. Suite 102, Logan , Utah
435-755-1460
Hours: Weekdays, 8 am – 5 pm

Both parties must appear in person in the Clerk’s Office to complete the  marriage license application available only at the office, with valid driver’s license or identification, and pay the license fee of $30.00 by check, cash, Discover, MasterCard or VISA.

  • Applicants must be 18 years of age with legal proof or age; or
  • Applicants who are between 16 and 18 years of age shall have consent signed by a parent or legal guardian at the Clerk/Auditor’s Office with an oath of affirmation to the clerk. However, if the parents of the minor are divorced, consent shall be given by the parent having legal custody of the minor.
  • Applicants who are 15 years of age shall obtain a written authorization to marry from a judge of the juvenile court by completing the form provided by the County Clerk’s Office.
  • Bride and Groom must know their parents’ full names including mothers’ maiden names and the states where both parents were born; or country if they were born outside the United States
  • Both must provide a Social Security Card or document showing their name and social security number (i.e. paycheck stub, W-2 form, tax return, bank statement, printed on driver’s license, etc.)
  • A marriage license issued is valid throughout the State of Utah.
  • A marriage license issued shall be used within 30 days of the date of issue. (QSaltLake advises you to marry immediately.)
  • The person solemnizing the marriage shall return the license to the County Clerk’s Office within 30 days.

Davis County

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Davis County Clerk/Auditor’s Office, Marriage Division:

Davis County Clerk/Auditor’s Office
61 S. Main Street, Suite 104, Farmington, Utah
801-451-3218
Hours: Weekdays, 8 am – 4:30 pm

Both parties must appear in person in the Clerk’s Office to complete the  marriage license application available only at the office, with valid driver’s license or identification, and pay the license fee of $50.00 by check, cash, money order, MasterCard or VISA.

  • Applicants must be 18 years of age with legal proof or age; or
  • Applicants who are between 16 and 18 years of age shall have consent signed by a parent or legal guardian at the Clerk/Auditor’s Office with an oath of affirmation to the clerk. However, if the parents of the minor are divorced, consent shall be given by the parent having legal custody of the minor.
  • Applicants who are 15 years of age shall obtain a written authorization to marry from a judge of the juvenile court by completing the form provided by the County Clerk / Auditor’s Office.
  • A marriage license issued is valid throughout the State of Utah.
  • A marriage license issued shall be used within 30 days of the date of issue. (QSaltLake advises you to marry immediately.)
  • The person solemnizing the marriage shall return the license to the County Clerk/Auditor’s Office within 30 days.

Grand County

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Grand County Clerk/Auditor’s Office, Marriage Division:

Grand County Clerk/Auditor’s Office
125 E. Center St, Moab, Utah
435-259-1321
Hours: Weekdays, 8 am – 5 pm

Salt Lake County

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Salt Lake County Clerk’s Office, Marriage Division:

Morgan County

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Morgan County Clerk’s Office, Marriage Division:

Morgan County Clerk’s Office
48 West Young Street, Room 18, Morgan, Utah
801-845-4011
Hours: Weekdays, 8 am – 5 pm

Licenses are $40.

Salt Lake County

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Salt Lake County Clerk’s Office, Marriage Division:


Salt Lake County Clerk, Marriage License Division
2001 South State Street #S2200, Salt Lake City
385-468-7300
Hours: Weekdays 8 am – 5 pm (closed on state and federal holidays for Salt Lake County)

Both parties must appear in person in the Clerk’s Office to complete the marriage license application (if that link fails to load, try here on QSaltLake’s server Also, web admins are saying that certain Chrome browsers are having problems displaying the app pdf. Try another browserwith valid driver’s license or identification, and pay the license fee of $40.00 by cash, check, money order, MasterCard or Visa.

Marriage license applications must be printed on white 8 1/2 X 11 paper.
The license fee is non-refundable and includes two certified copies.

Marriage licenses may be used immediately upon purchase, but must be used within 30 days from the date of purchase at which time the license expires. Refunds and extensions cannot be granted.

  • A license issued in Salt Lake County may be used in any county in the State of Utah.
  • Identification and proof of age is required of all persons.
  • If a divorce has been granted within the last 30 days, you need to provide a certified copy of the divorce decree.
  • For information on a divorce filed in the State of Utah, call the Third District Court, Divorce Division 801-238-7480.

Summit County

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Summit County Clerk’s Office, Marriage Division:

Summit County Clerk’s Office
60 N. Main Street, Coalville, Utah
435-336-3204
Hours: Weekdays, 8 am – 4:30 pm

Both parties must appear in person in the Clerk’s Office to complete the  marriage license application available at the office or by downloading the form off their web site, with valid driver’s license or identification, and pay the license fee of $50.00.

Tooele County

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Summit County Clerk’s Office, Marriage Division:

Tooele County Clerk’s Office
47 S. Main, Room #318, Tooele, Utah
435-843-3140
Hours: Weekdays, 7 am – 6 pm

Both parties must appear in person in the Clerk’s Office to complete the  marriage license application available at the office or by downloading the form off their web site, with valid driver’s license or identification, and pay the license fee of $50.00.

Washington County

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Washington County Clerk/Auditor’s Office, Marriage Division:


Washington County Clerk/Auditor’s Office
197 East Tabernacle, St. George, Utah
435-634-5712
Hours: Weekdays, 8 am – 4:30 pm

Both parties must appear in person in the Clerk’s Office to complete the marriage license application (if that link fails to load, try here on QSaltLake’s server with valid driver’s license or identification, and pay the license fee of $30.00 by check, cash or money order.

  • Applicants must be 18 years of age with legal proof or age; or
  • Applicants who are between 16 and 18 years of age shall have consent signed by a parent or legal guardian at the Clerk / Auditor’s Office with an oath of affirmation to the clerk. However, if the parents of the minor are divorced, consent shall be given by the parent having legal custody of the minor.
  • Applicants who are 15 years of age shall obtain a written authorization to marry from a judge of the juvenile court by completing the form provided by the County Clerk / Auditor’s Office.
  • A marriage license issued is valid throughout the State of Utah.
  • A marriage license issued shall be used within 30 days of the date of issue. (QSaltLake advises you to marry immediately.)
  • The person solemnizing the marriage shall return the license to the County Clerk/Auditor’s Office within 30 days.

 

Weber County

Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Weber County Clerk/Auditor’s Office, Marriage Division:


Weber County Clerk/Auditor
2380 Washington Blvd, Ste 320, Ogden
801-399-8400
Hours: Weekdays, 8 am – 4:30 pm

Both parties must appear in person in the Clerk’s Office (If one of the parties cannot be present, an application form provided by their office will have to be completed and signed by the applicant before a notary.) to complete the marriage license application (if that link fails to load, try here on QSaltLake’s server with valid driver’s license or identification, and pay the license fee of $30.00.

  • Applicants must be 18 years of age with legal proof or age; or
  • Applicants who are between 16 and 18 years of age shall have consent signed by a parent or legal guardian at the Clerk / Auditor’s Office with an oath of affirmation to the clerk. However, if the parents of the minor are divorced, consent shall be given by the parent having legal custody of the minor.
  • Applicants who are 15 years of age shall obtain a written authorization to marry from a judge of the juvenile court by completing the form provided by the Weber County Clerk / Auditor’s Office.
  • A marriage license issued in Weber County is valid throughout the State of Utah.
  • A marriage license issued shall be used within 30 days of the date of issue. (QSaltLake advises you to marry immediately.)
  • The person solemnizing the marriage shall return the license to the Weber County Clerk/Auditor’s Office within 30 days.

 

Related Articles

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
Close
Close