Utah Pride 2021

Nominations being sought for Utah Pride’s community service award

Listen to this article

The Utah Pride Center is now taking nominations from the full community for the Dr. Kristen Ries Community Service Award. Established in 1987 and first awarded to Ries for her humanitarian efforts in dealing with the AIDS crisis, and forever named in her honor, the award recognizes outstanding service to the greater LGBTQ+ community in Utah, and is given to individuals who are dedicated to continuing that legacy of service. Those who receive this award are role models for Utah’s LGBTQ community and, like Ries, “exemplify everything that the award has stood for: compassion, leadership, and courage.” The award is voted on by past recipients of the award.

Nominations for the 2021 award can be made at this link by Sunday, May 16.

Past Recipients:

1987 Dr. Kristen Ries M.D.
1988 Rev. Bruce Barton
1989 KUTV Channel Two for sponsoring bringing the AIDS Quilt to Utah
1990 Chuck Whyte
1991 Nikki Boyer, Becky Moss, Ben Williams
1992 The College of Monarchs of the Royal Court of the Golden Spike Empire, Craig Miller
1993 Ben Barr, Val Mansfield, Kathy Worthington
1994 Kim Russo
1995 Bruce Harmon
1996 Clariss Cartier (Doug Tollstrup), Charlene Orchard, Barb Barnhart
1997 Rev. Kelly Byrnes, Jeff Freedman, Maggie Snyder PA-C
1998 LaDonna Moore
1999 Dr. Patty Reagan Ph.D.
2000 Marlin Criddle
2000 Brenda Voisard
2001 Laura Milliken Gray
2001 Brook Heart-Song
2002 Kevin Hillman
2003 Doug Wortham
2004 Luci Malin
2005 Jane and Tami Marquardt
2006 Jackie Biskupski
2007 Doug Fadel
2008 Stan Penfold
2009 Walter Larabee
2010 Mark Swonson
2011 Michael Aaron
2012 Valerie Larabee
2013 Brandie Balken and Charles Lynn Frost
2014 Fran Pruyn and Mark Lawrence
2015 Courtney Moser, aka Petunia PapSmear
2016 Peggy Tomsic
2017 Todd Bennett
2018 Alan Anderson
2019 Sue Robbins and Pepper Prespentt
2020 Karrie Galloway

Back to top button